A warm welcome

…to anyone reading this. I have no delusions of grandeur, so I know that at this time that group consists of me, myself, and I, but on the off chance that someone will stumble upon my blog, it is nice to see you. Now to talk about the reason this blog exists. I’ve been considering the U.S. presidential race, the state of education in the U.S., and the condition of the entire world, and I found myself wishing there was a way out. It seems ridiculous to me that here we are in the 21st century, having split the atom, sent human beings into space, and are even now pursuing the answers to questions about the fabric of reality, yet people still kill each other over which mythical being they worship. It’s insane! Rational people need a way to escape. Allow the crazies, the fanatics, and their ilk to tear each other to pieces, we’ll be over here minding our own business. And let me put it out right here, right now. I don’t care what your religious beliefs are, whether you believe in Jehovah, Allah, the Trinity, or the Invisible Pink Unicorn. Just keep your beliefs to yourself, out of the public eye and mind, and everybody can peacefully coexist. But in order to do so, we must have a place to call our own, somewhere outside of the spheres inhabited by hateful nuts and the like. Far and away the easiest site to establish such a haven would be Antarctica. So I propose the rational inhabitants of these here intertoobz form a committee to explore the plausibility of this Idea.

 

Disclaimer: This website was created by a very tired and fed up person, not a loon. I’m 100% serious about the “wishing” part of this diatribe, but have very little faith that anything will come of this idea. This blog is likely to go through a multitude of phases, with some posts sticking to topic, and others ranging far and wide through the worlds of politics, science, entertainment, and personal musings. Try to enjoy, and don’t hesitate to comment. Fair warning though: anyone spamming will be summarily banned, or if i can’t figure out how to do that, ignored.

~ by antarcticparadise on September 16, 2008.

2 Responses to “A warm welcome”

  1. I accept your welcome and relate to your frustration. I thought the solution could be found in creating an Atheist Organization that fulfilled our need for a social life in which to raise children and indulge old people without resorting to a life filled with rants, accusations and swipes at the “other guys”. Obviously, that didn’t fly. In the last year I haven’t even had a fellow Atheist tell me to get lost. A part of the problem is that the census says there are over 30,000 other “non-believers” in my city. I have only been able to identify one and his cursory comment was that he was not “a joiner” and was able to exist without confronting the other “side” or getting confronted by them so he was upset that “I got his name”. Sure, I could go to Antarctica, but I think I would the only one there and I don’t think I could get a good Internet connection there.

  2. Much of the problem is that Atheists, Agnostics, Rationalists etc. are one of the least trusted groups of people in the US, and are therefore much less likely to come out of the closet for fear of discrimination and resentment. Even those who’ve already made the leap might not want to openly affiliate themselves with a pro-atheism lobby/group.
    In order to make an Antarctic base a reality, there would need to be a huge movement with the money and supplies to back such an expedition, not just some lonely adventurers who feel like a polar jaunt. This, and the strenuous and most likely forceful protests various world governments would have to the plan is the major impediment to any such idea turning into a reality.

Leave a Reply

 
